Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: What adjustment should I match?  (Read 6582 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Grider

  • Moderator
  • Location: St. Augustine, Florida
  • Posts: 863
    • Greenlight Communications
Re: What adjustment should I match?
« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2010, 02:27:09 PM »
Thanks for the link. I left the AP at the site running open. When I return tomorrow I'll have more to work with.

I use ipscan 3.0 but you gotta know the range (which I didn't).
ESI Certified Technician since 2003
www.greenlightconnection.com

Offline LaneComm

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Ocala, Gainesville and Central Florida
  • Posts: 130
    • Voice, Video, Unified Communication and Healthcare Solutions Ocala, Gainesville and all of Central Florida
Re: What adjustment should I match?
« Reply #16 on: August 04, 2010, 07:56:16 PM »
Why not reset the the AP to factory default and start again?
Steve Lane, MCSE

Voice, Video, Data and Managed IT Solutions
featuring ESI, Cisco, Avaya, Ascom, Dell and Microsoft.

Ocala, Gainesville, Jacksonville and all of Central Florida
Licensed and Insured - ES12000683

www.CentralFloridaPhones.com
www.ESIphoneSystems.com

Offline Grider

  • Moderator
  • Location: St. Augustine, Florida
  • Posts: 863
    • Greenlight Communications
Re: What adjustment should I match?
« Reply #17 on: August 05, 2010, 06:36:10 AM »
Quote
Why not reset the the AP to factory default and start again?

Yep, I did that and plugged it into the network. The AP worked fine and the next step was to configure it secure instead of open. When it gets plugged into the network it gets reassigned a new IP other than the factory default 192.168.1.245. So the problem becomes WTF ip are you now. Next idea is to direct connect, default, pre program which gets us back to the original question of why the travel laptop won't connect like the desk laptop.

I feel like a dog chasing his tail!
ESI Certified Technician since 2003
www.greenlightconnection.com

Offline LaneComm

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Ocala, Gainesville and Central Florida
  • Posts: 130
    • Voice, Video, Unified Communication and Healthcare Solutions Ocala, Gainesville and all of Central Florida
Re: What adjustment should I match?
« Reply #18 on: August 05, 2010, 03:45:12 PM »
Why not default it - set your travel laptop to be in the same range as the Linksys AP (use a cross over cable and assign) a static IP to that rascal thats available on the network then plug it in and either set your laptop to DHCP or a staic in the networks range.

If that doesnt work let me know I can have one of my guys log into your machine and fix ya up.
Steve Lane, MCSE

Voice, Video, Data and Managed IT Solutions
featuring ESI, Cisco, Avaya, Ascom, Dell and Microsoft.

Ocala, Gainesville, Jacksonville and all of Central Florida
Licensed and Insured - ES12000683

www.CentralFloridaPhones.com
www.ESIphoneSystems.com

Offline Grider

  • Moderator
  • Location: St. Augustine, Florida
  • Posts: 863
    • Greenlight Communications
Re: What adjustment should I match?
« Reply #19 on: August 06, 2010, 08:37:06 AM »
Thank you for the kind offer Steve. I may at some point take you up on it. The only reason I don't accept your offer now is that I'm more interested in the education of how to do these things instead of having them done for me. :003:
ESI Certified Technician since 2003
www.greenlightconnection.com

Offline LaneComm

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Ocala, Gainesville and Central Florida
  • Posts: 130
    • Voice, Video, Unified Communication and Healthcare Solutions Ocala, Gainesville and all of Central Florida
Re: What adjustment should I match?
« Reply #20 on: August 20, 2010, 03:23:14 PM »
John,

Did you get it figured out?

Steve Lane, MCSE

Voice, Video, Data and Managed IT Solutions
featuring ESI, Cisco, Avaya, Ascom, Dell and Microsoft.

Ocala, Gainesville, Jacksonville and all of Central Florida
Licensed and Insured - ES12000683

www.CentralFloridaPhones.com
www.ESIphoneSystems.com