Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Virtual modem application?  (Read 4875 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 906
Virtual modem application?
« on: May 26, 2016, 09:44:25 PM »
Does anyone know of an app that allows me to access a virtual modem to dial into older systems for maintenance and programming?  I know that there are services that allow remote access to my PC , like 'GoToMyPC', but I was hoping for something that I can just set up an access portal from any device and have it act as a modem connected to a land line.  I certainly wouldn't mind paying a fee for this service.
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online NFCphoneman

  • Moderator
  • Location: Jacksonville & Gainesville, FL
  • Posts: 694
    • Jacksonville Telephone Systems
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #1 on: May 28, 2016, 03:14:06 PM »
Never heard of such. Can't you just setup RDP on your PC and then go to it when you need to use a modem?

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4634
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2016, 03:43:06 PM »
Ed, it's an intriguing thought and certainly doable, but my guess is that there just isn't enough of a call for it.  Even virtual fax sites are disappearing as things go toward scan and email.

We leave an old workstation attached to each of those old cabinets.  The workstation runs an mp3 playlist for the music on hold, captures the SMDR, and runs the programming software.  That way we can restart the MOH, access the data or just remote to the computer to program.

I suppose you could just remote to a workstation with a modem at your office and have your own virtual system.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline tonyburkhart

  • Moderator
  • Location: Reynoldsburg Ohio USA
  • Posts: 1022
    • www.teamburkhart.com
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #3 on: May 31, 2016, 05:35:47 AM »
I like the idea, because there are systems out there that still need serviced like that. Hmm... just don't know of any such thing off the top of my head. Let me practice my Google-Fu and get back to ya.
Thanks,
Tony Burkhart
Team Burkhart
www.teamburkhart.com

Offline ttech

  • Moderator
  • Location: Paoli, PA
  • Posts: 263
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #4 on: May 31, 2016, 09:09:52 PM »
You may be able to use an Ipocket (serial to IP converter at the far end) and a Virtual serial driver at the PC end.    On your application it looks like a direct connect to a comm port.

http://www.ipocket232.com/

http://www.hw-group.com/products/hw_vsp/index_en.html

Offline oobie

  • Technician
  • Location: Central PA
  • Posts: 176
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #5 on: June 01, 2016, 01:55:03 PM »
Ive done as others have said.  I keep a machine in my office with modem in it and can access it from anywhere as long as I have a network connection.  I even use my phone as a hotspot just to get internet access so im able to access that machine.  Works like a charm.

Still have those old Vodavi's, ESI's, and NEC's without network connectivity so I need that dial up!!!

Gary Frisco

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 906
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #6 on: June 02, 2016, 10:46:05 PM »
Thanks for input, gang.  I think that I'll just stick with remote access to my desktop at the office for now.  I can hit it from my iPhone's app and remote PCs as well (I think I'm using GoToMyPC or something similar) and it works fine.  I'd really like to be able to hear audio in order to verify the connection (or lack of connection issues), but that's insignificant.
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Offline oobie

  • Technician
  • Location: Central PA
  • Posts: 176
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #7 on: June 03, 2016, 12:25:32 PM »
Ed,
I do believe with Teamviewer and Logmein (Paid Versions) you can get the audio from the PC you are connected to. 
Gary
Gary Frisco

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4634
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #8 on: June 03, 2016, 09:13:50 PM »
Ed,
I do believe with Teamviewer and Logmein (Paid Versions) you can get the audio from the PC you are connected to. 
Gary

The free version of Teamviewer still transmits audio if that's a concern.

Nice new headshot Ed.  :054:
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Online hbiss

  • Administrator
  • Location: Westchester County, NY
  • Posts: 3310
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #9 on: June 03, 2016, 09:32:16 PM »
Looks like Ed is out on his yacht. Nice.

-Hal
I gotta get out of this business...

COMSYSTEC- Phone Systems | paging systems | background music systems | foreground music systems | retail music | restaurant music

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4634
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #10 on: June 04, 2016, 11:40:24 AM »
Looks like Ed is out on his yacht. Nice.

-Hal

The Ed-Bell.  :011:
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 906
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #11 on: June 05, 2016, 11:42:11 AM »
Looks like Ed is out on his yacht. Nice.

-Hal

The Ed-Bell.  :011:

Ha!  That's actually me on my dad's boat that we've nicknamed "The SS Duct Tape".

It turns out that the free/personal version of Teamviewer will work for me and it does bring the audio over to the remote device.  Thanks for the feedback.  Now, back to my yacht...
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4634
Re: Virtual modem application?
« Reply #12 on: June 05, 2016, 07:30:25 PM »
Glad it worked for you, Ed.  :054:

Teamviewer is what we use for the very few instances where we might not have a VPN tunnel.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.