Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Voicemail setup  (Read 9457 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jrowe

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Voicemail setup
« on: October 16, 2015, 02:26:24 PM »
I started a new job recently and my employer has an old comdial phone system with conversip ep100 phones.  I am trying to set up a new voicemail box.  I added a new box on the server but when I try to dial in to it from my phone it tells me it's not a valid entry.  How do I get the system to recognize the number and how do I set my phone to use it?  My experience has all been on the PC side, I am a complete noob when it comes to phone systems.

Offline MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4714
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2015, 02:45:02 PM »
Hi jrowe,

I'm not one of the Comdial techs, but just wanted to welcome you to the board.  If you did what I'm picturing, you never created a way for the right hand to know what the left hand did.  Larry is a former Comdial engineer, and both Mark and Dave are well versed on those systems also so I feel sure they'll have a better visual for what's happening. 
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline jrowe

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2015, 02:51:00 PM »
Hello, thanks for the reply.  That pretty much hits the nail right on the head.  I managed to create the box but none of my manuals have anything on how to set up the system to use it.

Online CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8294
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2015, 04:20:38 PM »
This system and phones were produced after Comdial, became Vertical Communications.  I do not have any information on them, but I'm sure Dave does.
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Online RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 973
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2015, 05:18:25 PM »
Hopefully you set it up as a user/subscriber mailbox. Transfer type=blind if you are using an automated attendant. Probably need more info....Comdial system type and voice mail particulars(DOS or Windows). Should be able to nail it down if those questions are answered.

Dave

Offline hacky

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Baraboo, WI
  • Posts: 10
    • Hackbarth Communications, L.L.C.
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2015, 10:58:17 PM »
If you dial into the voicemail and press pound, and get "please enter your mailbox number" and you key in the box,  and you are hearing "I'm sorry, that is not a valid entry" then somehow you didn't actually create the box.  "To set the system to use it"  isn't really a step.  As  RBF said, transfer = blind and the destination is "X"  meaning the extension number. There are no other steps and you shouldn't have to even check those things. Usually, this never comes into conversation because the system will already use the box for the extension, because the template sets new boxes up correctly.   Sadly, I haven't touched the Keyvoice setups since the DX-120.

This is assuming this you have the Keyvoice software running. The keyvoice software ran on small office lite, debut, DX-80/120 voicemails, etc.   The phrases you provided makes me think it is that software.
Software Developer and Allworx Dealer
Donovan Telephone Consulting & Repair

Offline EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 932
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #6 on: October 17, 2015, 11:15:23 AM »
"Conversip E100 phones".  That doesn't sound like an "old" Comdial system, and I'm sure that these phones aren't working behind a DX80/120.  My guess is that the system is one now supported by Vertical Communications.  I'd post in that forum for better exposure.
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 973
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #7 on: October 17, 2015, 12:59:08 PM »
The EP 100 series was really an SCS set with updated plastics. They would work on  DXPs, DXP+, FX, MP5000 and even DSUII with later software revs.

Online CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8294
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #8 on: October 17, 2015, 02:10:54 PM »
"Conversip E100 phones".  That doesn't sound like an "old" Comdial system, and I'm sure that these phones aren't working behind a DX80/120.  My guess is that the system is one now supported by Vertical Communications.  I'd post in that forum for better exposure.

Ed......see my post above yours!   :011: :066:

I knew Dave would have it!   :054:
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline jrowe

  • New Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: Voicemail setup
« Reply #9 on: October 19, 2015, 08:10:02 AM »
Thanks for all the posts.  I ended up finding another pdf that helped me get it going.