Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: OS7200s Can't Dial 911  (Read 5528 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RM SYSTEMS

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Posts: 3
OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« on: September 06, 2014, 07:37:06 AM »
Hi Folks,
Customer cannot dial out to 911. Dials 9 for an outside line, then dials 911, Call does not connect. Here's what the display shows "911 Call : 707".
Same result if trunk is accessed directly, Works OK at the demarc. Lines are analog. Any Thoughts?

Online CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8584
    • www.lscg.net
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2014, 03:57:16 PM »
Save your database and default the system, then try a 911 call while in default.  We can't tell what you might have programmed.
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Marc Haycook

  • Administrator
  • Location: Jefferson City, MO
  • Posts: 2680
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2014, 05:14:22 PM »
Do you have LCR enabled? If so, create a line just for 911. Depending on how you built the table the system is likely waiting for more digits.

If you don't have LCR enabled, do what Larry suggested.
Marc Haycook
CCNA
Sport-Touring

Online CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8584
    • www.lscg.net
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #3 on: September 06, 2014, 06:47:36 PM »
At first I thought about LCR but he says it happens when you select a line key.   I see he is getting line 7 when dialing 9 (I guess?) If there is less than 7 lines, dial access 9 needs to be programmed to select the highest position with a line connected to it.
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Marc Haycook

  • Administrator
  • Location: Jefferson City, MO
  • Posts: 2680
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #4 on: September 06, 2014, 06:52:43 PM »
Good point... I overlooked the direct access to the line. If he's getting dial-tone on the direct line key then I'm not sure why he can't dial 911.

Just thought... I remember a system that had problems dialing any number with a 9 because the DTMF tone was not correct.

I'd suggest putting a test set on the line between the system and the NID to hear how the DTMF sounds as the number is dialed.
Marc Haycook
CCNA
Sport-Touring

Online CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8584
    • www.lscg.net
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #5 on: September 06, 2014, 07:30:12 PM »
If he's getting dial-tone on the direct line key then I'm not sure why he can't dial 911.

Agreed, it makes no sense.   :032:
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline bmreen

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Jacksonville,FL
  • Posts: 167
    • University of North Florida
Re:
« Reply #6 on: September 07, 2014, 03:59:45 PM »
There was a software version that did not allow 911 calls even in default. Samsung put out a emergency software a few days later. There is a memo on GSBN. I don't remember what version it was but it was when the nusrse call conferene on 911 calls feature was released.
Bobby Mreen
Telecommunications Technician
www.unf.edu

Offline RM SYSTEMS

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #7 on: September 08, 2014, 05:36:16 AM »
Thanks for all the responses. Software version is 4.60, LCR is not enabled, The display is showing 707 because that is the last line in the trunk group(sometimes shows 706,705 etc.)Not sure why display also shows "911 Call:" This system is set up as simple as you can get. I'll try the default and let you know what happens. Thanks again.

Offline phoneman

  • Technician
  • Location: Upstate NY
  • Posts: 88
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2014, 07:07:31 AM »
How about the other lines?  701-706.  Same thing?

Offline genesis

  • Technician
  • Location: Rochester, NY
  • Posts: 302
    • Genesis Communications
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #9 on: September 08, 2014, 07:27:56 AM »
bmreen is correct.
4.60 had a problem with 9_911 that was corrected. The fix besides upgrading software is in 709 in the TOLL OVERRIDE put in "911" and then in OVERRIDE TRUNK GRP put in "9".
Samsung

Offline RM SYSTEMS

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Posts: 3
Re: OS7200s Can't Dial 911
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2014, 07:26:10 PM »
Thanks all, bmreen and genisis you are correct. Just got my hands on Samsung tech bulletin 2012-01. Thanks all for the input.