Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: VGA output question  (Read 7892 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 925
Re: VGA output question
« Reply #15 on: January 13, 2015, 08:25:19 AM »
Here's the adapter that I received.  According to the description and accompanying video, this seems to be a true plug and play device:

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=4724&seq=1&format=2
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4676
Re: VGA output question
« Reply #16 on: January 13, 2015, 09:47:29 AM »
Ed when you pull the same product up on Amazon, there is some good information in the reviews.  

It looks like there are some DIP switches on the end.  What do they do?  One person said theirs came set for PAL and they had to change it to NTSC.  Could that be your issue?

There was also someone talking about having to reconfigure it each time they used it.  Those must have been soft settings.  Here is the link on Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Lenkeng-104724-Monoprice-VGA-RCA/dp/B001CJOLBW/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1421161497&sr=8-1&keywords=monoprice+video+converter

-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 925
Re: VGA output question
« Reply #17 on: January 13, 2015, 10:56:22 AM »
I didn't see any DIP switches on the unit that I received.  I'll have to take another look when I get home.
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 925
Re: VGA output question
« Reply #18 on: January 13, 2015, 03:58:31 PM »
Well, that's a bummer.  There is a quality control sticker over the opening in my unit where the DIP switches would have been.  Unfortunately, there aren't any switches in there.
Ed Vaughn

(910) 833-6000 (V)   (540) 623-7100 (C)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4676
Re: VGA output question
« Reply #19 on: January 13, 2015, 04:41:32 PM »
The manual isn't very descriptive, but it does seem to reference a few things that could be of issue.

PAL v. NTSC we've touched on, but that would be a biggie.

Interference in the display can be caused by insufficient power from the USB port in which case an external 5V supply may be warranted.  Additionally it warned about having the device too close to devices that may put off interference.

Check to see if the PC's resolution and vertical frequency are supported by this converter.  It also references changing the PC's refresh frequency.

There is a list of resolutions that are supported.  I run into this at times when giving lectures and using a Powerpoint on a projector.  

Somehow there is apparently a soft menu.  I read something about that in an Amazon review.

Here is the manual:

http://www.monopricehub.com/files/manuals/4724_Manual_110128.pdf

Do you by chance have a handheld tv you use for setting up CCTV cameras or anything you could use as a second test set?
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.