Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Windows cannot display wireless networks..  (Read 3917 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 971
Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« on: May 25, 2010, 12:39:57 PM »
I just put an IP set at an employees house. Works fine. The home network router  is a Dlink di-524 and they didn't know the password. I reset it and now comes the problem. One wired PC with Win2000 works fine. Two laptops with Win XP works fine on wireless. Of course one laptop with XP Service pack 3 shows connected on the task bar but cannot access the internet. When I go to make modifications in the wireless network area it says "Windows cannot display wireless networks." ReFresh network list displays the same. Doesn't this have something to do with the router not outputting an SSID or am I barking up the wrong tree?

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1113
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2010, 01:04:56 PM »
have you tried assigning a static IP to the one that doesn't connect ?

---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Offline RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 971
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2010, 01:23:51 PM »
That's what I wanted to do...If you try to modify the wireless properties of course it doesn't see it. If I try to change via network connections properties it still doesn't see the wireless connectivity so I can't force a static IP. Probably something simple but of course now I am 65 miles away...Probably going to have them try an IP release and renew to see if that fixes it. Hmmmm.

Offline telemarv

  • Moderator
  • Location: Ottawa ON Canada
  • Posts: 1459
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #3 on: May 25, 2010, 01:38:59 PM »
Laptops often use their own drivers and software for the wireless transmitter, not windows. Look for a machine specific control panel.

I know my IBM think pad has an icon called "think pad configuration".
Marv CCNA


If people had more manners... we'd need fewer laws.

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4633
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2010, 08:44:54 AM »
I know my IBM think pad has an icon called "think pad configuration".

We use Thinkpads exclusively and yes they do, but we always turn that off and use the Windows configuration.  The reason is exactly the problem Dave is describing.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1113
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2010, 09:10:16 AM »
the think pad thing is only if your using a secured network

Dave says there is no security enabled and they still cant connect
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4633
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #6 on: May 26, 2010, 10:58:57 AM »
the think pad thing is only if your using a secured network

Skip the issue we've seen is trying to be able to select the SSID.  If the Windows Wireless tab isn't in control you still have to make is select in the Thinkpad software.  I love Thinkpads, but we abandoned their "IBM Access Connections" just because of these issues.

Dave on another note, I was writing something else in here and it reminded me of another issue we battled between a Linksys WAP and a Thinkpad.  Is the Thinkpad an earlier generation like a T30?  If it's 802.11b just for testing purposes go into the WAP and set it for "B ONLY" and see if that fixes the problem.  I'd forgotten about battling that about 2 years ago when it was set to auto select.

Edit:  Dave what Model Thinkpad is this?  I've got a lot of those laying around here and  I'd like to play with some of the settings.  Also go into IBM Access Connections and make sure you don't have any profiles enabled.  Lastly, and I'm sure you've already confirmed this, but in the Network Connections Properties, on the Wirless Networks Tab, double check to make sure IBM didn't uncheck the box at the top that says, "Use Windows to Configure My Wireless Network Settings."  
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 971
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #7 on: May 26, 2010, 04:26:44 PM »
It's not a Thinkpad....don't where that came into the mix. It's a Dell Inspiron 1501. Going back tomorrow AM. :001:

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1113
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #8 on: May 26, 2010, 04:49:57 PM »
reading the same post two palaces makes it hard to remember what is posted where  :022:

Trace

Dave had posted that security wasn't enabled on the router which takes that out of the picture as far as failure to connect

Marv mentioned the think pad it kind of went from there

I have a older thinkpad (t40 )I use and it is a pain to set up security on


Dave with the distance involved I would take a  linksys router and a usb NIC , if you don't happen to have them best buy and wally world are both good about returns

 I'm used to the linksys routers and usually have a couple of spares if needed I recently had to work on a dlink and found it to be a
PITA to configure


  
  
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4633
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #9 on: May 26, 2010, 09:13:16 PM »
Dave I'd still try setting the WAP to B Only if it's an 802.11b.  We had one set to B/N where it would connect to either and for whatever reason the 802.11b card wouldn't connect until we changed that.  Also, the check box is checked on the Wireless Networks tab is checked isn't it?
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 971
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2010, 04:55:04 PM »
Thanks for the help guys. Went back to the site today and disabled the Dell Wireless Wizard and amazingly enough Windows found the network and it was good to go.

Offline LaneComm

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Ocala, Gainesville and Central Florida
  • Posts: 130
    • Voice, Video, Unified Communication and Healthcare Solutions Ocala, Gainesville and all of Central Florida
Re: Windows cannot display wireless networks..
« Reply #11 on: July 02, 2010, 12:22:13 PM »
I guess the "Dell Wireless Wizard" was having a bad day of wizardry? :011:
Steve Lane, MCSE

Voice, Video, Data and Managed IT Solutions
featuring ESI, Cisco, Avaya, Ascom, Dell and Microsoft.

Ocala, Gainesville, Jacksonville and all of Central Florida
Licensed and Insured - ES12000683

www.CentralFloridaPhones.com
www.ESIphoneSystems.com