Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: trixboxPro and Polycom 560 Registrations  (Read 2425 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New Hampshire
  • Posts: 1604
trixboxPro and Polycom 560 Registrations
« on: January 27, 2012, 09:38:50 AM »
So this customer site uses primarily Polycom 560 phones with Fonality's trixboxPro.  They have an issue where intermittently, an extension or two will lose its registration.  The extension goes grey in HUD, and while it still receives PoE, the phone isn't functional.  This is happening on about a weekly basis.  It is not always the same phones, nor is it always the same switch or switch port(s).  When this occurs, it does not affect all phones simultaneously - just one or two.  Restarting the phone clears the issue until it returns at a later date.

Is this a known issue with Polycom phones?  It rarely, if ever, happens with the Aastra phones.  I have seen this at more than one installation site.  In some instances, if you wait long enough, the phone will re-register by itself.  Has anyone else seen this, and if so, how did you resolve it?

Thank you for any input!
“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”
Dr Seuss

Offline stevena

  • Member
  • Posts: 69
Re: trixboxPro and Polycom 560 Registrations
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2012, 05:46:41 PM »
I don't know if this would help,
 
Is the phone setup set via DHCP or fixed IP?
If the network is setup for DHCP, how long are those IP address kept? If they are kept for a week (as the question mentions on a weekly basis), then that would tell me IP addresses get renewed every week and the Polycom is getting confused. 
Would there be conflicts between the various switches and routers? Are all the settings consistent thruout the entire network?

I know Polycoms can be get very moody if the IP network settings don't meet their demands and they like to crash on an often basis too.

I barely get through setting up basic IP networks, but this has been my experiences of trying to get a Polycom to work.

Hope this helps

Steven

Offline Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New Hampshire
  • Posts: 1604
Re: trixboxPro and Polycom 560 Registrations
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2012, 07:27:42 AM »
Thanks, Steven.  I'm kind of in limbo right now on this issue.  The phones are set DHCP, but they had been trucking along without issue for a few years.  We completed a new network diagnostic and found that one of their switches is periodically just dropping ports.  We have a new one on order and it should be replaced soon.  If the new switch does not resolve the issue, we'll look at static IPs next.   I'll let you all know the resolution as soon as we have one.  :003:
“You know you’re in love when you can’t fall asleep because reality is finally better than your dreams.”
Dr Seuss