Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Mitel with CA problem  (Read 6826 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Phil

  • Technician
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • Posts: 20
Mitel with CA problem
« on: January 16, 2012, 03:03:28 PM »
Mitel SX200 ICP with an MX controller.  I set it up initially so a call accounting package would work, and integrated it with an Opera PMS system.  All was working correctly when the hotel opened, some 3 - 4 years ago.  Now, as I understand it, the calls will not print, and they aren't being posted to the room folios.  The calls stopped working maybe 2 1/2 years ago, and it took them until last week to notice that.  Wake-up calls posted as recently as last Thursday, but have not posted since then.

I have a green light on the iPockets (all three), and an amber connectivity light on the ethernet side as well.  The Call Accounting box, made by EZ Callamatic, shows that the PBX and the printer is on.  The extension number on all the iPockets is correct, and in sync with what's programmed in the Mitel.  Checking form 34, the IO ports specified for each extension number matches what's programmed in the iPockets, and for which parameter.  I even went so far as to replace the CA iPocket with one I had on my truck, but it behaved no differently than the original one.  Hooked up my laptop to the printer port to see if I could capture any SMDR data, but that failed, too.  Checked the printer, since it is a good distance away from the CA box, but that connection looks good.  It appears that no SMDR data is getting out of the Mitel, but I can't understand how that could happen, since I have made no program changes in that particular area at all.  Options 246 and 702 are enabled for all phone COS, and option 803 is set to zero.

I might add that I was working with an Opera tech supporter all the while I'm doing this, so he was aware of where I was looking and what I was checking.  In short, we cannot figure out why the SMDR does not appear to be leaving the phone system, despite there being nothing in programming that I have found (so far) that would prevent it.

Has anyone else had a similar problem, and been able to fix it?  It might not be the biggest source of income to this hotel, but it is a source!

Phil
Phil

Offline CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8240
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2012, 05:35:55 PM »
Resetting the ipockets has always worked for me but I see you've already gone farther than that.  Maybe the printer port is bad seeing you can't get any data on your PC. I've see power fluctuations pop those ports.
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Phil

  • Technician
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • Posts: 20
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2012, 05:41:41 PM »
Yes, but the problem is that there is nothing hooked up to the printer port - unless you mean the CA printer.  I just set it up in form 34 to print SMDR to the printer port temporarily so I could see what, if anything might be coming out of there.
Phil

Offline CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8240
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2012, 05:48:12 PM »
unless you mean the CA printer

You are sending either to the folio or maybe a tels box I would imagine.  Can you see SMDR there?
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Marc Haycook

  • Administrator
  • Location: Jefferson City, MO
  • Posts: 2675
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2012, 06:59:50 PM »
I don't much about Mitel, but let me ask a quick question. How is the SMDR sent to the PC? Is it via a serial connection or via an IP address?

If it's a serial connection... you should be able to connect via HyperTerminal and watch the information flow out of the system.
Marc Haycook
CCNA
Sport-Touring

Offline CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8240
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2012, 07:07:09 PM »
It uses an ipocket which converts serial to eithernet.

http://www.precidia.com/downloads/app_notes/mitel_icp_pbx_to_pms.PDF
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Marc Haycook

  • Administrator
  • Location: Jefferson City, MO
  • Posts: 2675
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2012, 07:17:04 PM »
Okay... he should be able to connect a computer to the serial port that is sending out the data. Open a HyperTerminal session through the serial port and he should be able to see the raw data as it comes out of the Mitel.
Marc Haycook
CCNA
Sport-Touring

Offline CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 8240
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2012, 07:27:33 PM »
Open a HyperTerminal session through the serial port and he should be able to see the raw data as it comes out of the Mitel.

Exactly, it's what I was trying to say and do all the time but it came out confusing.

The fact that Phil said nothing was ever changed makes me think of another issue I see all the time with PMS companies. They upgrade there software and and it changes to some default baud rate.  It takes forever to get them to fix it once you determine that's what happened.
 

 
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Phil

  • Technician
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • Posts: 20
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2012, 10:01:23 PM »
You know, Larry, that thought occurred to me, too.  And I have seen it before!!  I think I'll go back on the property on Wednesday and then get hold of Opera again (easier said than done, and still understand both sides of the conversation, if you get my drift... :011:) and double check the serial parameters for the call accounting.

Marc, I did, indeed, set up my laptop to the output of the phone system, at the printer port on the front of the controller.  Opened up HTPE, and made a test call from a room that was checked in for me.  Nothing!!  That''s why I am getting frustrated!!   :035:
Phil

Offline Marc Haycook

  • Administrator
  • Location: Jefferson City, MO
  • Posts: 2675
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #9 on: January 17, 2012, 05:39:22 AM »
Marc, I did, indeed, set up my laptop to the output of the phone system, at the printer port on the front of the controller.  Opened up HTPE, and made a test call from a room that was checked in for me.  Nothing!!  That''s why I am getting frustrated!!   :035:

Baud rate was mentioned in a previous post and that might be the problem. Can you verify the baud rate settings in the Mitel? Make sure you have the same settings on your laptop.

I wish I knew more about Mitel, but I am just getting started with their product line. I install my first Mitel next month.
Marc Haycook
CCNA
Sport-Touring

Offline Phil

  • Technician
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • Posts: 20
Re: Mitel with CA problem
« Reply #10 on: January 31, 2012, 03:39:19 PM »
 :022:

AS USUAL, when all else fails, start at the beginning!!  What a dufus!  SMDR was NOT turned on in their one and only trunk group, after switching service providers about, say, 2 1/2 years ago!!  What an idiot I am!!
Phil