My Phone Techs

Telephone Services => T1's, CSU's & DSU's => Topic started by: MrGemini on December 18, 2014, 09:51:17 AM

Title: DID to pots
Post by: MrGemini on December 18, 2014, 09:51:17 AM
Just wondering what's involved in breaking out a DID in a Pri so it
can be delivered via pots?
A client inadvertently put all his numbers on the Pri.
The fax doesn't play well and it's also the alarm line.
-------------------------------------------
Thanks, Wayne
Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: silversam on December 18, 2014, 11:14:50 AM
Wayne,

Could we get some more info...

What kind of system, what kind of problems are being reported?

Was the line POTS before and is now a DID?

Sam
Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: oobie on December 18, 2014, 11:21:42 AM
You would have to place an order for it to be made a POTS again.  Otherwise route the DID to an analog port and connect it to alarm but that would not pass code I'm sure.
Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: MrGemini on December 19, 2014, 12:09:04 AM
Sam,
the client sign up  for AT&T IP Flexible Reach  and asked if we could put a Pri card
in his Samsung OS7100. No problem. We were not involved in the ordering at all.
They gave him 23 new numbers and took his main and his fax / alarm and put them all on
the Pri.
I would like to see the fax/alarm taken off the Pri and put back to a pots.
I'm not to concerned about the alarm oob, that should be converted to radio or cellular anyway.

Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: Marc Haycook on December 19, 2014, 05:34:19 AM
Just go back to the carrier and ask to make those numbers POTS again. It's an easy process.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: MrGemini on December 19, 2014, 09:47:52 AM
Marc, you would think it would be that easy!
AT&T in their infinite wisdom told the client it can't be removed.
We know otherwise but I was just wondering what's involved?
Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: Marc Haycook on December 22, 2014, 03:50:04 PM
We know otherwise but I was just wondering what's involved?

It's likely a two step process. Someone in the translations group would need to pull them off the PRI and then someone with switch access would need to put them back in the switch. If done correctly they can even assign them back to their old cable and pair.
Title: Re: DID to pots
Post by: oobie on December 23, 2014, 03:34:39 PM
We know otherwise but I was just wondering what's involved?

It's likely a two step process. Someone in the translations group would need to pull them off the PRI and then someone with switch access would need to put them back in the switch. If done correctly they can even assign them back to their old cable and pair.

Totally agree with you!