My Phone Techs

Phone Systems => VoIP Systems => Topic started by: KLD on May 09, 2010, 09:47:34 PM

Title: Allworx
Post by: KLD on May 09, 2010, 09:47:34 PM
Good?  Bad?  So-so?

Any one know the regional rep for KC?
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: telemarv on May 10, 2010, 06:49:24 AM
Hey Ken,
Personally I like them. I have a few out there and have never had to change one out. Easy to install, easy to program, great features, great phones and very few licences needed to buy.

Rep in your area, just contact Allworx in Rochester they'll set you up.
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: KLD on May 10, 2010, 08:07:39 PM
Thanks for the input, Marv.  The Rochester info is good to know.   Mick, JWRacedog, had one at the KC meet and it got me to thinking....I know that is dangerous!

 :011:
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: telemarv on May 10, 2010, 08:46:05 PM
The Allworx is also a network router, so Ken you better know a good CG if you are weak with networking. It is a pure VoIP system. I'm still learning that side of things.
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: khoi_allworx on January 05, 2011, 08:26:08 PM
Allworx is a nice system ...can be very costs effective for company with 100 users -  I have installed 5 systems and it's work flawlessly.  Even though, its acted as router /firewall -  You DO NOT want to do that - It's crashed the server -  It's best .. that you let the Router or Firewall or Server to provide DHCP / DNS and NAT - You should not have any problem - If I can be any assistant feel free to drop me an email - khoi2005@gmail.com
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: tonyburkhart on July 31, 2012, 10:32:10 PM
I know it's an old thread, but the topic is the same and with our recent Allworx run in, I thought I'd add to this for ease of use when people search for Allworx in the future (that way they don't have to look through a bunch of threads).

At any rate... after working closely with an Allworx dealer and talking to a few of you on this form about this specific system, I'm liking it more every time I use it and interact with it. The last 4 days have been an eye opener to the flexibility of a well designed system. 

Now - a question:

Are there peripherals/add-ons for this system like a typical TDM (ie Toshiba CIX) can add... (ie - door phones, lock controls, paging, MOH, ring down phones, etc. and so on and so forth)? I ask because the client expressed interest in an intercom system/door phone at different points.
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: telemarv on August 01, 2012, 06:50:34 AM
There is a paging port (one zone), MOH input. Most Allworx Servers have several analog ports, so an analog door phone would work. There are several  manufacturers who make IP door phones.

Mostly what I like about Allworx is its ability to emulate a key system. Most pure IP systems are PBX only.
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: tonyburkhart on August 01, 2012, 07:39:23 AM
That is exactly what I was hoping to hear! Awesome, thanks Marv :)

RE: Door phone for Allworx ~ Is it programable to ring any group of, or all extensions at once, etc. (I would assume so, just verifying)?

RE: MOH for Allworx ~ Can you have multiple MOH for different groups, tenants or VLANS, etc.?
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: telemarv on August 01, 2012, 07:45:56 AM
Analog ports: you would put a call appearance of the analog extensionon on the phone(s)  you want to answer it. Theoretically that could be anywhere in the network, local or remote.

MOH: only one input

Paging: I don't know if you can send DTMF out the port for zone paging, I've never tried.
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: JWRacedog on August 01, 2012, 10:40:30 AM
We have used a C.O. line port on the 6X for Viking DoorPhones.  We then use an extension as a virtual for the ringing (e.g--200 & 201 were used as tenanted C.O. lines--202 was used for the DoorPhone).  Every one that we have put in has been working fine for at least 3 years.  We have put the DoorPhone line appearance on appropriate phones so it lights up when the DoorPhone's button is pushed.  I think that (and using the virtual to control ringing) is the easiest way to make it ring ---just on certain phones.

The DB9 connector on the Allworx can be also used as a DoorPhone connector---or used as a Paging port hooked up to an amplifier.  If I remember---the MOH port (RCA jack, I think) has dual use.  You can put a splitter on it and use 1 pr of wires for the MOH and the other pr of wires for the Paging.  I'll have to check on that, though.  I remember purchasing a bunch of dual (stereo-like) RCAs that fit in the jack so that we could do that.

We also have never used zone paging---although we do have a system that we have remote paging and local paging---the remote paging is going to another 6X through a T-1.  But that's another story.

You mention the "well-designed" system.  I think that is also what I like about it so far.  It has done everything that we have asked it to do (in over 6 years)---and then some---and done it in a way in which you didn't have to do any convoluted jury-rigging just to get something to work.  It was designed by some Eastman-Kodak engineers that understood the importance of simplicity and elegance in a sophisticated piece of equipment.  The company has since been sold and is integrated into a much larger business model, now---my only hope is that they continue with the original idea and don't try to screw around with it too much.  So far---so good.
Title: Re: Allworx
Post by: tonyburkhart on August 01, 2012, 01:05:45 PM
Marv and Mick, that is all awesome information, thank you so very much :-)

I will let you know if we end up putting in a door phone and/or paging, both of which they are interested in, but the door phone in particular has peaked their interest
(http://maps.google.com/maps/api/staticmap?center=40.493165,-82.724305&zoom=15&size=480x320&maptype=roadmap&markers=40.493165,-82.724305&sensor=true)Chester, OH, USA



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk