My Phone Techs

Telephone Services => T1's, CSU's & DSU's => Topic started by: Skip555 on February 16, 2011, 09:49:05 AM

Title: relocating a smart jack
Post by: Skip555 on February 16, 2011, 09:49:05 AM
I have a customer with a Deltacom circuit who is swapping out a construction trailer . Deltacom says 45 days to schedule a move . well the circuit isn't moving the building is .

my plan is to disconnect the smart-jack from the old trailer Thurs PM then reconnect it to the new trailer fri .

whats the best way to do this  ?

should I disconnect the smartjack , then reconnect it outside at the terminal until I'm ready to move it inside ?

so I need a loop-back to keep the circuit up ?

or just disconnect then reconnect in 24 or so hours ?

the plan is for me to pull the phone equip late Thur , Fri morning  old trailer gets pulled out , new trailer goes in and we cable and reinstall voice and data

I figure worst case and the circuit dosen't come back it becomes a repair issue not a move .



Title: Re: relocating a smart jack
Post by: CMDL_GUY on February 16, 2011, 09:57:07 AM
so I need a loop-back to keep the circuit up ?

The telco is going to see errors and may take it out of service at their end.  I would loop it but be prepared to call them when you hook it back up.

I figure worst case and the circuit dosen't come back it becomes a repair issue not a move .

That's about it!
Title: Re: relocating a smart jack
Post by: justbill on February 16, 2011, 10:36:47 AM
If it's a dedicated point to point t-1 just disconnect it and reconnect when ready.  If it terminates in a Telco switch do as Larry said.  If it is to a switch the trunks will probably take themselves out of service looped or not.  Depending on who is supplying the switch they may come back up on there own. 
Title: Re: relocating a smart jack
Post by: Skip555 on February 16, 2011, 06:47:01 PM
I haven't been to this site in at least 5 years and then it was just to install a partner so 'i don't recall whats there . thinking about it its probably going to a channel bank to break out analog dt and they usually have a built in ups , that plus i have a UPS I can add or even a ext cord to keep the circuit up if not it should see it like a prolonged power issue    there is a trailer next door that's staying in place so I could stick it in there




Title: Re: relocating a smart jack
Post by: TexasTechnician on February 16, 2011, 07:48:39 PM
"........if not it should see it like a prolonged power issue........"

I was thinking along those lines as well. It should recover on it's own I would think. If it doesn't then it's not worth having IMO.