Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: XTS won't restart without initializing  (Read 185 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 861
XTS won't restart without initializing
« on: August 09, 2020, 11:06:42 AM »
This system is an XTS-IP600 with three cabinets connected, SW 3.00. When the system loses power, it will not restart on its own. The only way is to initialize it and reload the database. The MPB-E card has been replaced with the same results. All other cards and power supplies appear to be good. Any ideas?
Ed Vaughn

(540) 623-7100 (V)  (910) 835-3600 (F)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4416
Re: XTS won't restart without initializing
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2020, 05:02:08 PM »
Ed, forgive me if this is a stupid question, but I don't know the Vodavi so I'm making some assumptions based on your terminology.  Can you take the outside cabinets out of the equation?
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline NFCphoneman

  • Moderator
  • Location: Jacksonville & Gainesville, FL
  • Posts: 689
    • Jacksonville Telephone Systems
Re: XTS won't restart without initializing
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2020, 05:42:37 PM »
The memory battery is good?

Online EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 861
Re: XTS won't restart without initializing
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2020, 09:03:52 PM »
@Trace:  Yes, we tried isolating it to one cabinet with the same result.

@Larry:  Yes, the battery was replaced on the original MPB card and we also tried a replacement card with a fresh battery.  I suppose it's possible to have two bad batteries.
Ed Vaughn

(540) 623-7100 (V)  (910) 835-3600 (F)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4416
Re: XTS won't restart without initializing
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2020, 09:52:33 PM »
Okay, because you guys are who I would turn to for Vodavi, it's useless for me to approach this from a Vodavi perspective, so while you guys hash that one out, I'm trying to thing about this from a component level. 

Ed, you said maybe it could be two bad batteries, but is it possible that we need to look at a common point beyond the battery?  The power supply feeds the cabinet, the cabinet feeds the card.  I don't know about Vodavi, but I can see how in some of our cabinets a short at the supply or at the back plane could create a short that would drain the battery.  Maybe with the battery removed, an ohm test across the battery terminals with the card out, and then in the cabinet?

It's just very odd that the programming gets lost with two different batteries and two different CPU cards.

If that's ridiculous, just tell me to shut up and go back to sleep.   :003:
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.