Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls  (Read 1980 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« on: March 26, 2019, 04:05:44 PM »
New install , in early December everything working fine until two weeks ago . now it randomly drops calls . Did a system reset , confirmed system ground  ran sidetone test .  Talking to the women who answer most calls and they say they here a noise on the line then dead air . I made a call and a minute or so in it dropped and gave me dial tone.  Called back and talked for 10 min or so with no drops . One of the women said she timed it and dropped every 6 min while she was on a conference call  the other day . Not all calls just random

Century link says they ran extensive tests and nothing wrong on their end . This is a straight wink start T1

I looked at alarms and I don't see anything unexpected

I'm going back tomorrow and I'll give century link and Necntac a call and see  what they say 

Stacey gave me a list of things to check the other day and it all looks OK

Settings :ESF (24 Multi frame )
              B8zs
              External clock source
              number of ports auto

   Trunk timers are all default


Again ,worked fine  until two weeks ago , no program changes  on my end .

Any suggestions
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4323
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 05:38:10 PM »
Skip, is the T-1 going straight to the cabinet, or is it feeding to an ATA and then analog to a line card?
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #2 on: March 26, 2019, 05:39:39 PM »
Trace, straight to the T1 card
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4323
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #3 on: March 26, 2019, 07:28:48 PM »
Ouch.  Short of a card going bad, I'm really leaning toward a carrier issue.  The fact that at one point, however, it was dropping at a regular interval (6 minutes) that really discounts the hardware failure issue.  You can't normally set your watch by a hardware failure.  Okay, a weak capacitor could get close, but in that case the issue wouldn't go away.

Skip I had an issue a while back with a SIP provider where the call would drop at 120 minutes like clockwork.  Head of VoIP claimed that had gone to enginnering, contacted the switch manufacturer, etc.  Swore there was nothing else.  Even the CEO of their company had this issue.  After they fired him, the new lackey found the timer within hours.  Moral to the story is Century Link's word is only as good as the tech that is telling them he checked everything.

Occam's Razor:  The most obvious answer is almost always someone screwed up.  - Gregory House, M.D.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #4 on: March 26, 2019, 07:40:22 PM »
Thanks Trace , I had a lot of trouble setting this up , century link kept giving me the wrong circuit Info . After numerous calls I finally got someone at Century link who looked and told me it was a Wink Start Straight T1 , not Pri like they had been telling me . Got the right info and we got it up and running until this week .

Im going to try for a vendor meet .

Stacey was a big help in getting this going to start
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online CMDL_GUY

  • Administrator
  • Location: Mt. Sidney Virginia
  • Posts: 7775
    • www.lscg.net
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #5 on: March 26, 2019, 08:23:35 PM »
This sounds like a clocking issue on the carrier end.
"Government is not reason; it is not eloquent; it is force. Like fire, it is a dangerous servant and a fearful master." - George Washington

“Remember democracy never lasts long. It soon wastes, exhausts, and murders itself. There never was a democracy yet, that did not commit suicide.”   -John Adams

K4LRM

www.lscg.net

Faster horses, younger women, older whiskey, more money.

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2019, 08:30:19 PM »
thanks Larry , Ill suggest that If I can actually talk to someone who has a clue
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New York
  • Posts: 1518
    • Tech II Business Services
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2019, 08:34:26 PM »
I remember that now, Skip.  I don't know why I had it confused in my head, thinking they were handing off analog.  Too many programmed systems stuffed in the grey matter.

I really do hate to say it, because I know how hard it is to troubleshoot with a carrier when you can't see what they're actually doing, but I'm going to bet on carrier.  If you had a T1/PRI card laying around, you could try to swap it, but not too many of us have one of those in our back pocket.  :p
“It's so much darker when a light goes out than it would have been if it had never shone.”
― John Steinbeck

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #8 on: March 26, 2019, 08:55:45 PM »
a little too much money for me to have sitting on the shelf , Stacey . My plan is to  call NECNTAC in the morning and see what they say then try to get somewhere with Century link . I don't know if you remember but we couldn't get it to connect , couldn't get it to connect until I found someone at century link to look closely at it and give me the correct specs for the circuit

 I don't  want to put the customer in the middle , I just want to get it to work  before she called me she called century link and they said they did "comprehensive overnight testing "and found no problems on their end .

 
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online silversam

  • Moderator
  • Location: NYC
  • Posts: 1078
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #9 on: March 26, 2019, 11:25:47 PM »
Skip - do you have a T-Bird or a Sunset or some other T-Carrier tester?

If you do, stress test the sh*t out of the span (to a loopback). If it passes then go head-to-head with a carrier tech. If that passes, then it ain't the span. You'll have to look at your switch or the carrier's switch (good luck with that!)

If you don't have a tester, either rent one or insist that the carrier come out to the job site and test the circuit. Watch them and make sure it passes.

If you need the stress tests, I can send them to you.

Sam

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #10 on: March 27, 2019, 06:46:17 AM »
thanks Sam , I don't have any T1 test equipment . I'm going back in today and I 'll see if NEC has any thoughts , then I'll push Century link for a vendor meet .
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Offline NFCphoneman

  • Moderator
  • Location: Jacksonville & Gainesville, FL
  • Posts: 682
    • Jacksonville Telephone Systems
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #11 on: March 27, 2019, 02:06:51 PM »
I bet there are slips occurring. It's always the carrier with digital circuits. Plus, who gets a straight T1 nowadays?

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #12 on: March 27, 2019, 03:49:09 PM »
Larry ,  We replaced a Nec electra Elite that crashed so the old T1 circuit was existing

Necntac says

"since you are hearing noise "static" on the call this indicates al low level issue on the T1span itself typically a CRC error issues cause byu frame slips / clocking issues. "

I had it happen to me again when I was there today , on the call , a couple of clicks and disconnect

Customer reopened trouble ticket with centurylink and requested a site visit . I  called and centurylink said everything was clean when they tested 
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Offline ttech

  • Moderator
  • Location: Paoli, PA
  • Posts: 263
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #13 on: March 27, 2019, 09:18:58 PM »
Do you have a CSU between the phone system and the circuit?   I’ had a few T-1s back in the Merlin legend days, that a CSU smoothed it out enough for errors  to not affect the calls.   

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #14 on: March 28, 2019, 01:25:54 PM »
Thanks , Don  Im looking into CSU

Here's what century link  said and my response

1. Ensure you are timing off the line/circuit.  ( We are , our equipment looks to the circuit for timing )
2. Timing card in equipment could be going bad either check/change it.  (no signs of that , its less  than 6 months old )
3. Change the main circuit id you are timing off of to a different circuit, then reboot equipment. Then clear your counters, do a reset on equipment.( there is only one circuit )
4. Change circuit back to original circuit you were timing from.  ( there is only one circuit , and we never changed it )


they tested remotely Im requesting send a tech to test on site ?vendor meet
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #15 on: April 02, 2019, 08:41:33 AM »
I spent most of the afternoon yesterday calling around looking for someone with a T-Berd or who could test the circuit . Everyone I talked to just test like I do .   I requested a vendor meet , centurylink sent someone out  friday (never let me know ) apparently he changed a card in the smart jack  I  don't think he did any testing .

when I talked to my competitors  they all agree its centurylink and "good luck getting anywhere "

I had a long talk with Terry Simon the Nec sales rep he tells me the T1 card is rock solid and the only failure he has seen is lighting related

customer is talking Warranty replacement , NEC isnt going to replace it if its working .

I'm going to go ahead and put in a new T1 card to test .

they have a full t1 for 12 users (and low phone usage ), they downsized  and I'm thinking they could get by with a half t1 and save some money . Either way they need to change providers I doubt centurylink will ever get it straightened out

---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New York
  • Posts: 1518
    • Tech II Business Services
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #16 on: April 02, 2019, 10:49:46 AM »
If you're going to scale them down and CenturyLink won't play ball, you might want to consider SIP trunks.  If you have a carrier services provider in the area that has its SIP trunks NEC certified, it makes it a snap.  We have Spectrum in this part of the country, and while they are A PAIN to schedule, once the service is in, it's normally solid.  Spectrum brings their SIP trunks in on a standalone circuit which helps tremendously with reliability.
“It's so much darker when a light goes out than it would have been if it had never shone.”
― John Steinbeck

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #17 on: April 09, 2019, 01:09:43 PM »
I got this from the customer Friday
"This is to confirm that an update has been recorded on CenturyLink ticket 16077423.

Called customer, spoke with Jennifer,

Informed her that we referred this issue to the local carrier to have them pull HDSL stats.  They pulled those stats yesterday and reported that they only saw errors on their VIEW 11 which indicates errors from the customer's equipment.  The customer stated that their vendor has been out but didn't see a problem with the equipment.  Informed her that if needed we can set up a vendor meet where the local carrier can meet with their vendor and show them what they are seeing.  We have also ran extensive tests to the smartjack with no errors on the network.  We will hold this ticket until we hear back from the customer.

Curtis D.
Technician
Enterprise Repair
CenturyLink
1-877-453-8353"

I talked to Curtis yesterday , they sent frontier out since they are handling the circuit , Curtis says Frontier sees errors coming from our equipment . I have vendor meet set for Thursday he said they can give me a copy of the error log on their end and show me their tests

---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New York
  • Posts: 1518
    • Tech II Business Services
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #18 on: April 09, 2019, 06:09:30 PM »
Send the reports to NEC and have them do an advanced replacement on the PRI card.  I've yet to see them fight or deny a warranty replacement request.
“It's so much darker when a light goes out than it would have been if it had never shone.”
― John Steinbeck

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #19 on: April 10, 2019, 07:16:22 AM »
NECTAC closed out the report when I reopened it the new tech wants me to do the DIM report first tech told me how to do it but said it wouldn't tell us anything . I'm headed down today to start running it . I have vendor meet tomorrow so I can get the LECS report and DIM and forward them to NEC . They ought to do a replacement then .
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #20 on: June 12, 2019, 10:22:47 AM »
this is still dragging on . I've stayed on the customer for data and here is what  I've found .

DIM has to go to a device I thought there was buffer I could access but I need to be logged in with   Putty . I set it up  last tuesday , no dropped calls . reset the laptop no dropped calls Wed. I took the laptop and we had dropped calls thur and friday .

the calls are all to one area , customer says thats because most of their calls are to that area .

I'm going in tomorrow to run DIM again and I'm going to activate the free trial on SMDR to get a list of all calls .

customer wants system replaced , NEC says show us it's our fault

Here's whats been reported


no dropped calls 6/3, 6/4, 6/5  . Ran DIM on 6/4 and 6/5

6/6  4 calls to area code 615 all to same number , two calls to 631 

6/7 one call to 631 (cell phone )

6/10 no dropped calls

6/11  one call to 615 (same number as 6/4 )


the 615 calls are all to one number  , the 931 are to the home office (one to a cell )

so far all dropped calls are to the Nashville area   Customer says that is where most of their  calls go since that is the home office area

I'm going to set up the laptop and run DIM tomorrow , since thursday last week was the big dropped day

hopefully they will have dropped calls with DIM running .
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New York
  • Posts: 1518
    • Tech II Business Services
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #21 on: June 12, 2019, 07:16:47 PM »
Good luck.  I sometimes put a laptop in and just let it keep running the logs, saving to file, until the issue repeats.  Intermittent issues are the worst.   :016:  The new version of system software (2.00+) has Wireshark capture built into WebPro.  I don't know if that will be useful at this time, but if you can spam calls out to the numbers they know fail most often, maybe you can get something. 
“It's so much darker when a light goes out than it would have been if it had never shone.”
― John Steinbeck

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1109
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #22 on: June 12, 2019, 08:04:48 PM »
I was talking to the NEC sales rep this afternoon , there have been  6 calls drop in the last week to one number . his suggestion is to call that number 10-15 times when im on site  with DIM running . I'll Have the customer call his contact and let him know whats happening .

Centurylink is asking if we can make the SL2100 "loopable "  Nec wasn't sure they said to play with 90-60 through phone programming . I went ahead and made a loopback plug to be sure . I have a number at Century link to call so they can run the loopback test .

SMDR is going tell me how many calls/ area codes are working.  so far dropped calls are basically two numbers / two area codes all in the Nashville area  I'm wondering about long distance carrier
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4323
Re: Sl 2100 / T1 dropping calls
« Reply #23 on: June 12, 2019, 11:01:30 PM »
I feel your pain, Skip.  We actually install a dedicated workstation (usually an older one that we have decommissioned) at every cabinet so we can remote to it for this kind of crap.  Please keep us posted.  I'm really interested to hear how this plays out for you.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.