Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Caller ID on a CICS?  (Read 62 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Northern Virginia (Metro DC Area)
  • Posts: 717
Caller ID on a CICS?
« on: August 08, 2018, 08:39:12 PM »
Is there any special trick to receive caller ID on an CICS?  I recently replaced one and had to re-program it from scratch, which was no big deal.  I re-used the two C1 line cards and now they are not receiving caller ID information.  I tried a DS card in the same slot and no effect.  Is there a feature code or programming step that is needed for this to happen?
Ed Vaughn

(540) 623-7100 (V)  (540) 693-5800 (F)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Offline NTlayoff

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Columbus, Ohio
  • Posts: 408
    • CMH Telecom, Ltd.
Re: Caller ID on a CICS?
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2018, 09:26:48 PM »
That depends on which software version you put in.
IF you are at 6.1 or higher, then basically any phone that rings can get caller ID.
If it is lower, than only 1 phone can on that ringing line.

6.1 and up:
Go into prog for EACH PHONE that has a ringing line.
Go to Telco / Feature assign / Show each line - first prompt is Caller ID Set:  make it YES.
Go to next ringing line - set to yes.
etc....
THEN go to next phone ext and repeat.
DS card will NOT show caller ID.
If CON is the opposite of PRO
then what is the opposite of Progress?

Online MooreTel

  • Moderator
  • Location: Lennoxville, Qc., Canada
  • Posts: 558
Re: Caller ID on a CICS?
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2018, 01:28:39 PM »
Nolt to disagree with Jim, but on any CICS & on any phone you can have Caller ID...
Wilson's Law of Commercial Marketing Strategy - As soon as you find a product that you really like, they will stop making it.

Offline NTlayoff

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Location: Columbus, Ohio
  • Posts: 408
    • CMH Telecom, Ltd.
Re: Caller ID on a CICS?
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2018, 04:58:45 PM »
Dave:

Are you saying that the lower version restricting to just one phone does NOT apply to a CICS ???
I did not know that.

But even on the MICS with the lower version.  Even if it cannot show when ringing,  You can do F811 to call for the ID INFO before you answer.   
If CON is the opposite of PRO
then what is the opposite of Progress?

Offline telemarv

  • Moderator
  • Location: Ottawa ON Canada
  • Posts: 1309
Re: Caller ID on a CICS?
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2018, 05:25:26 PM »
Jim, Dave is correct CI works on all ringing phones in CICS regardless of software version. MICS requires 6.1 or higher.

Ed, you need to turn Caller ID on each line in line programming and also the phone must be set to Ring before you can tell it to receive the CI info.
Marv CCNA


If people had more manners... we'd need fewer laws.