Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: IWATSU ECS and SIP  (Read 1761 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jrpfahl

  • Member
  • Posts: 9
IWATSU ECS and SIP
« on: July 20, 2016, 03:10:54 PM »
i am using the Alcatel 8001 SIP Deskphone. I have the licenses for SIP and SIP is set up in the ECS. When the phone boots up, it gets an IP, it sets the time and goes to the TFTP server and grabs the config. However, through wireshark on the phone and the ECS, I am not seeing a 401 Unauthorize being sent back from the ECS. What would cause the ECS to not send that back. All i really see is register requests in wireshark for the phone and the ecs. But it is not sending back the 401...thanks

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 3729
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2016, 07:28:16 PM »
Are you seeing any kind of a handshake in Wireshark, and have you changed port settings?  Iwatsu uses non-standard ports.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline jrpfahl

  • Member
  • Posts: 9
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #2 on: July 20, 2016, 09:51:53 PM »
the ecs wireshark shows the phones request register. but nothing after that, no 401. We are using 5060 as the port on the ecs and the phone. Should something different be used? The phones get dhcp fine and they are pointing to the lan 2 address and all the devices are pingable. From my observations the ecs can see the phones. However, the phones are not getting the 401.  Also, to note when I reboot the ecs the phones register. Then after 10-15 minutes they unregister and dont register again. I have swapped out the processor with a test processor with my same database. same results.

Online RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 882
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #3 on: July 20, 2016, 10:08:51 PM »
What software version is the ECS running?
Vertical Comdial Dx80 and  DX120 Voice Mail Repair/Compact Flash Cards
Comdial Debut Compact Flash Cards

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 3729
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #4 on: July 20, 2016, 10:19:45 PM »
Then after 10-15 minutes they unregister and dont register again.

Dave, is this sounding a little like a UDP timeout to you?

jrpfahl, are these phones on site, or at a remote location?  If at a remote location, what type of gateway hardware are you using.
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Online Keighlar

  • Moderator
  • Location: New York
  • Posts: 1169
    • Tech II Business Services
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2016, 07:19:53 AM »
Trace... I misspoke.  It's the SIP trunks that use non-standard ports.

Every SIP phone is going to need different settings changed. I don't see the Alcatel in the Interoperability Guide - but that is from 2010.  It does sound like a UDP timeout to me.  On the Polycom phones I use:

Server 1 AND Line 1
  • Address = IP Address  of CCSU1 
  • Port = 5060
  • Expires = 3600
  • Register = 1

Local Settings
Digitmap = Blank out all entries.  Replace with:
•   911|9[2-9]xxxxxx|91xxxxxxxxxx|[1-8]xxx
"Do not let your fire go out, spark by irreplaceable spark in the hopeless swaps of the not-quite, the not-yet, and the not-at-all. Do not let the hero in your soul perish in lonely frustration for the life you deserved and have never been able to reach. The world you desire can be won. It exists.. it is real.. it is possible.. it's yours."
— Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

Offline jrpfahl

  • Member
  • Posts: 9
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2016, 08:32:52 AM »
its running 11.02. the ports is set to 5060, expires is 3600 where do i check the register = 1 setting and the local settings mentioned by Keighlar. I would agree that it seems like its timing out. I had my network engineers check the extreme switches for port timers, he said that the switches are not set up that way. More typical on cisco.  Where do i check to make sure that im using UDP.

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 3729
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2016, 10:22:42 AM »
Are these phones on the LAN or are they outside the gateway?
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline jrpfahl

  • Member
  • Posts: 9
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2016, 11:50:44 AM »
They are internal on a lan. The phone server is in the same vlan as the phone. I did a test on a phone after it rebooted. I deleted the password and the phone attempted to register to the phone server. The phone server responded back 403 forbidden. I put the password back in and got no response at all from the phone server. It appears to be centered around authentication and the phone server not completed the auth handshake. Maybe, just guessing. But why would it send a  403 and not a 401?

Online RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 882
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2016, 06:32:38 PM »
From Icon's website....



This set is now supported on Iwatsu ECS systems with software version 12.

http://www.iconvoicenetworks.com/phones/alcatel-lucent-enterprise-8001-sip-deskphone/
Vertical Comdial Dx80 and  DX120 Voice Mail Repair/Compact Flash Cards
Comdial Debut Compact Flash Cards

Offline jrpfahl

  • Member
  • Posts: 9
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2016, 09:55:04 AM »
This was resolved by removing the username and password on the ecs and the sip phone. thanks for your help

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 3729
Re: IWATSU ECS and SIP
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2016, 01:55:56 PM »
That would explain it.  Congratulations, and thanks for the update.  :054:
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.