Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Sip troubleshooting  (Read 3951 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ictelco

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Posts: 3
Sip troubleshooting
« on: June 15, 2010, 10:16:38 AM »
I've not done any sip yet and I was curious what some of the pitfalls may be. Obviously, no static or hum issues after a hard rain....... 10 digit dialing is required for all calls? How is long distance dialed? How does toll restriction change as far as the phone system is concerned. Echo, one-way audio?
Thanks in advance for your replies.
Ictelco

Offline NFCphoneman

  • Moderator
  • Location: Jacksonville & Gainesville, FL
  • Posts: 690
    • Jacksonville Telephone Systems
Re: Sip troubleshooting
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2010, 12:14:17 PM »
It works great, once you get the bugs worked out.  I suggest you get a test system of your choice set up and start playing with SIP trunks.  You'll quickly learn to hate it, then eventually love it.

Most providers do require 10-digit dialing, which means long-distance is dialed just like a local call will be.  Once you set up LCR on your switch, it is not a big deal.  One way audio is typically a routing issue.  I haven't had enough experieince with echo problems to give an opinion on that.

My advice is start with the phone system you want to sell, then come up with a router that works well with SIP, and keep selling the same two products.  Remember, QOS is your friend. Good luck!

Offline Marc Haycook

  • Administrator
  • Location: Jefferson City, MO
  • Posts: 2659
Re: Sip troubleshooting
« Reply #2 on: June 15, 2010, 12:17:42 PM »
10 digit dialing is required for all calls? How is long distance dialed? How does toll restriction change as far as the phone system is concerned. Echo, one-way audio?

I believe most carriers require ten digit dialing, but this doesn't have any effect on long distance... at least not with Broadvox/Voxitas and Samsung. To help the customer, I just created an LCR table and they dial like they always have. Local calls are still dialed as seven digit numbers and the LCR table modifies the number to add the area code. I haven't had any problems with echo or one way audio. If you encounter problems with one way, it's going to be a routing issue and should be easy to fix.
Marc Haycook
CCNA
Sport-Touring

Offline obt

  • Technician
  • Location: Kilkenny Ireland
  • Posts: 8
    • obtsystems
Re: Sip troubleshooting
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2010, 01:12:05 PM »
one thing i have is a test sip account, many times the trunks won't come up and I try my account on the system, if it comes up then the system and firewall should be ok and is a problem with their account details.
It was working when I left....

Offline mongo5150

  • Moderator
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • Posts: 185
    • Just-Sayin...
Re: Sip troubleshooting
« Reply #4 on: June 18, 2010, 10:14:05 PM »
99% of the time it is a firewall issue.....
ACSS - SMEC
APSS - IP Office

Offline johnp

  • Technician
  • Posts: 11
Re: Sip troubleshooting
« Reply #5 on: June 19, 2010, 09:58:44 PM »
It depends on the provider. I've seen some decent, and some not so.