Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)  (Read 3250 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sean Madden

  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« on: May 04, 2016, 11:16:02 AM »
I’m deploying an ESi900 with a mix of 64 ESi handsets, easy install, and shouldn’t be an issue at all.
 
  My situation is this:
  I would like to have an ATA installed at a remote location (out of state and not using a VPN connection) I will be using 4 Cisco SPA112 to register 8 SIP ext. I have done this on the Local LAN (and VPN) a number of times with no issues, the problem I’m running into is registering the ATA from the remote Network back to the ESi 900.  Any assistance would be appreciated.

Sean



Offline Grider

  • Moderator
  • Location: St. Augustine, Florida
  • Posts: 863
    • Greenlight Communications
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2016, 12:31:55 PM »
I wish I could assist you but I have zero experience with the 900. If you haven't run this by ESI Tech Support yet, I'm hoping you will and get back to us with your findings.

When you said ATA you were referring to an Analog Terminal Adapter. Am I correct? ESI systems I am familiar with do not have ATA's in external form like other systems, they are built in depending on card configuration.
ESI Certified Technician since 2003
www.greenlightconnection.com

Offline Sean Madden

  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2016, 01:00:37 PM »
Yes, an Analog Terminal Adapter. 
My plan is to route SIP stations from an ESi system into an unused Trunk port on an old Iwatsu system.
 
This will provide "ring down" current that I will forward to a Voice Menu on the Iwatsu system with a recording that says “Please dial the extension number of the person you wish to reach”. 

From there an ESi 900 user can dial any extension in the Iwatsu system.  The Iwastu user will dial the “trunk access code” to receive “ICM (The SIP Station)” dial tone from the ESi and dial any extension in the ESi system.  Interoperability of sorts…..

Offline Grider

  • Moderator
  • Location: St. Augustine, Florida
  • Posts: 863
    • Greenlight Communications
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2016, 02:24:44 PM »
How many extension over on the Iwatsu side?
ESI Certified Technician since 2003
www.greenlightconnection.com

Offline Sean Madden

  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #4 on: May 04, 2016, 03:14:18 PM »
The Iwatsu has around 30 stations and a 4 port Voice Mail card, if I use 2 ATAs, I will be able have 4 concurrent calls to and from the systems.

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4323
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #5 on: May 04, 2016, 05:35:50 PM »
Hi Sean,

I just wanted to say welcome to the board, and thanks for the posts.  Also, if you end up needing it on this job we have some awesome Iwatsu support here.

Don't be a stranger. 
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline Sean Madden

  • New Member
  • Posts: 4
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #6 on: May 05, 2016, 07:26:25 AM »
MacGyver, Sounds good and I may take someone up on the Iwastu support.  Still looking for someone that has any Cisco  ATA WAN experience, the LAN side config is easy, it's getting it to talk back to the ESi from the WAN interface that's giving me issues.

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4323
Re: ESi 900 with Cisco SPA112 (remote site)
« Reply #7 on: May 05, 2016, 11:35:58 AM »
MacGyver, Sounds good and I may take someone up on the Iwastu support.  Still looking for someone that has any Cisco  ATA WAN experience, the LAN side config is easy, it's getting it to talk back to the ESi from the WAN interface that's giving me issues.

Maybe I misunderstood your original post.  In talking to our Iwatsu guru, Stacey, she mentioned that the way she interpreted what you're trying to do is essentially the same thing I'm doing at one of our remote NEC locations. 

Am I to understand that you have a gateway device such as a firewall in place at the remote location, the Cisco ATA is on the LAN side of the gateway device, and you're unable to make contact with the ATA?

-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.