Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)  (Read 8389 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« on: June 17, 2014, 02:27:59 PM »
Greetings Friends, We're in the process of replacing a Ducane phone/paging system with NEC/Valcom. The rub is incorporating amplification with our Valcom V2924A. We have about 60 Valcom ceiling speakers split into 8 zones. Any recommendations on amp choices? We were told a Valcom 6120 was a good choice but only 6 channels. TIA!!
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #1 on: June 17, 2014, 02:31:11 PM »
Forgot to mention: all speakers we looked at were tapped at .5 watts. This is a school and speakers are one-way, non-amplified.
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Online hbiss

  • Administrator
  • Location: Westchester County, NY
  • Posts: 3162
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #2 on: June 17, 2014, 04:44:50 PM »
Hmmm. Looks like the Valcom V2924A is an intercom system designed to work with a single 45 ohm speaker per zone. I'm assuming that you want to use each of 8 outputs on the V2924A to drive an external amp which in turn would have a 70 volt output to supply the speakers? Yeah, I guess it will work. As to the 6120 only being a 6 channel amp and you need 8. How about two? Kind of odd though with four 10 watt outputs and two 40 watt outputs and 25 volts, not 70.7. I would get away from Valcom and find something else.

-Hal
I gotta get out of this business...

COMSYSTEC- Phone Systems | paging systems | background music systems | foreground music systems | retail music | restaurant music

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2014, 11:24:19 AM »
Have any suggestions; Bogen, Viking, Clarity? Sure I could Google this; rather hear what the amps of choice are from my colleagues, TIA! 
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Online telemarv

  • Moderator
  • Location: Ottawa ON Canada
  • Posts: 1420
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2014, 11:53:03 AM »
I use Tortech, but I'm not sure they are available in the US.

http://tortechsound.com/
Marv CCNA


If people had more manners... we'd need fewer laws.

Online hbiss

  • Administrator
  • Location: Westchester County, NY
  • Posts: 3162
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #5 on: June 20, 2014, 07:24:59 PM »
Can't say when I have done a multi zone system. But if I were I'm partial to Crown and Bogen and I have no problem with a bunch of one and two channel amps instead of something that provides multichannels. From a reliability standpoint I feel that you are better off with separate amps because if one craps out it only affects one or two zones and they are interchangeable.

-Hal
I gotta get out of this business...

COMSYSTEC- Phone Systems | paging systems | background music systems | foreground music systems | retail music | restaurant music

Offline JWRacedog

  • Moderator
  • Location: Pearl Lake, Illinois & Mission, Texas
  • Posts: 442
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #6 on: June 20, 2014, 09:24:33 PM »
We've been partial to Grommes-Precision amps for many years now.  I have a few Basix models (15W) in stock and have installed up to and including the 400W Axiom models.  We have called them up, told them of the situation and they have recommended a solution.  They've been spot on, so far.  A bit pricey, but good stuff.  IMO
Retired Now

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #7 on: July 10, 2014, 10:54:09 AM »
Greetings Folks; just thought I'd post results of our paging quest. We ended up installing a Valcom 6120 amp. Now check this; we hooked all 40 speakers to the Valcom 2924A and only had to use one 10W channel for a 5 speaker group that was too soft. The 2924A (with volume nearly maxed) pushed 35 ceiling mount Valcom 8 ohm speakers tapped at .5 watts. We were pleasantly surprised. Now we just have to find a Dukane drawing or Guru to indicate input for master clock input so Valcom can control clocks throughout the building. Thanks all!
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #8 on: August 01, 2014, 04:23:00 PM »
Back again, I'm beating my head against a wall with this Dukane Star Call. I found 1 guy in KC that knows these systems and he is a straight up a%$hole!! I'm trying to find some tech info. on the system and have searched for drawings and tech manuals online. Nada'! Can anyone offer up a suggestion or point me in the right direction? TIA!! Time for a Landshark or 6!! Everyone have a good weekend!!
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Offline MrGemini

  • Administrator
  • Location: Elmhurst, IL.
  • Posts: 727
    • GO HAWKS!
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #9 on: August 01, 2014, 05:25:07 PM »
Jeff, what kind of problems are you having?
Have you tried the Mfg. in St.Charles, IL. ?
I did a simple Google search and came up with 4 manuals.
https://www.google.com/#q=dukane+starcall+manual
-------------------------------
Wayne

Offline ptcaezza

  • Technician
  • Location: Santa Paula, CA
  • Posts: 30
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #10 on: August 01, 2014, 07:01:19 PM »
The Crown CM2208 amplifier is designed for PA applications and has eight outputs at 256 watts each.

Probably and overkill for what you want.
Patrick T. Caezza
Caezza Technical Services
C-7 Lic# 992448

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2014, 08:21:46 AM »
Wayne, The google search you pointed out are users manuals. I need installation manuals or schematics. We
are trying to interface the dukane with a valcom 2924a; using the valcom as the master and the dukane as slave.
No matter how we hook it up, the valcom will not take control of the digital clocks. We have everything working except
clock control.
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Offline MrGemini

  • Administrator
  • Location: Elmhurst, IL.
  • Posts: 727
    • GO HAWKS!
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2014, 10:52:48 AM »
Jeff, by chance do you know the model number of the CPC card?
Something like 310-3521A CPC

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2014, 11:42:18 AM »
yea Wayne, it's a CPC-E 110-3521
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.

Offline bluzman

  • Technician
  • Location: Hiawatha, KS.
  • Posts: 164
Re: Valcom and Ducane Paging (Help Hal!!)
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2014, 01:36:48 PM »
Thought I'd post end results. We finally gave up and had the Dukane tech from KC come in. We never
would have been able to accomplish our goal without the software to direct the Dukane to be the slave.
Another case off trying to assist a school district save a buck. Never turns out well when you set out to
be a spendthrift.

"I never repeat the same mistake twice; I do it five or six times, that way the lesson sticks!!"   :008:
Jeffrey N Lusk
Rainbow Communications
Hiawatha, KS.