Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Professionally Recorded Voice Prompts  (Read 4830 times)

Offline PacificVoiceWare

• Pacific VoiceWare
Professionally Recorded Voice Prompts
« on: March 04, 2014, 03:37:21 PM »
Hello,

I joined this forum, yes, in hopes of getting some new business... but even if I don't get any new business, I'm hoping to learn a little more about how vendors deal with clients who request professionally recorded voice prompts.

A brief introduction. In the Navy I was an Interior Communications Tech, which I'm sure many of you know is the rate which, among other things, takes care of all the phones on the ship and/or shore. I was a Dimension 2000 Tech and administered a system with over 1,000 extensions (USS McKee AS-41) and several dozen different classes of service. Sorry... I said brief...

I got out of the Navy in '91 and began working as a voice talent in Los Angeles. But my experience in phones often had me recording voice prompts for phone systems. This led me to work for a company that produced Music and Message On Hold Productions. Soon I started my own company which provides professionally recorded voice prompts. First it was just me but then I added a female talent. Eventually I added Spanish male and female talent and then began offering French Canadian prompts as well.

Today I provide voices for hundreds of end-users, several dozen IT departments and a hand full of phone vendors... from large companies to ma and pa operations. The ones I work with are frequent return customers but I'm surprised I don't work with more.

I usually receive a script from the vendor, record the files and deliver them in the file format/sampling/bit rate requested. Sometimes I will call into a phone system and load the file by playing it back over the phone using a Telephone Interface Gadget I have that connects the phone directly to my computer's audio output.