Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?  (Read 21198 times)

telemarv, silversam and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline TexasTechnician

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 410
Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« on: July 02, 2012, 08:03:38 PM »
Does anyone know of a reliable source to get one reparied these days? I don't need it too often these days but it would be nice to get it fixed for a reasonable price. I have a Fluke that gets me by but it's nowhere near the quality of the old HD. I spent an hour recently toning a pair out and without the speaker my neck was killing me by the time I located the tone. :(
There was so much AC current in the room an amplifer was useless.

Offline EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 817
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 08:20:37 PM »
I did a search across the street and found this to be the most recent commo since www.ButtSetRepair.com seems to be out of business.  Hope that it helps, Bobby:



Posted by Z-man (Member # 625) on June 13, 2012 01:27 AM:
 
After many many years of faithful service, so many I don't even know, thinking maybe 15?? My TS-22A is on the fritz. The "0" on the key pad appears to be worn out! I know it might not be worth fixing, but i have grown attached to it. Anyone know a good source to get a keypad or repair?


Posted by dexman (Member # 7900) on June 13, 2012 08:22 AM:
 
Fluke & Sandman might have some ideas. Mohawk LTD offers buttset repair services....

http://www.mohawkltd.com/repair_services/repair_line_card.php?id=429

If all else fails....retire & replace. [Smile]
 
Ed Vaughn

(540) 623-7100 (V)  (910) 835-3600 (F)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Offline Skip555

  • Moderator
  • Location: Sarasota Fl
  • Posts: 1101
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 06:10:04 AM »
I've just gone to eBay and replaced them when they went bad .

what problem are you having ? could it be the internal battery ?

do you use a filter probe for tone  ?   Mine does a great job of muting the AC

http://www.amazon.com/Greenlee-200FP-Filter-Tone-Probe/dp/B001UKVT1I
---------------------------------------------
Skip

...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online MacGyver

  • Administrator
  • Location: Dallas, Texas
  • Posts: 4271
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2012, 08:33:00 PM »
I've got a HD that I need to ship off too.  The speaker was working fine when I put it back in the truck, and the next time I tried to use it...fubar.  :035:
-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline anthonyh

  • Moderator
  • Location: New Jersey
  • Posts: 318
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2012, 09:22:03 PM »
I have the same probe as Skip...works really well
...Please don't touch that

Offline TexasTechnician

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 410
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2012, 09:44:39 PM »
Thanks all.
I guess I don't know about filter amps. 
I just wanted the old HD repaired, I've never considered ebay. I guess that may be as cheap as getting one repaired.

The problem is 1, sometimes there is no sound what-so-ever from the test set period. I have replaced the 9 volt battery with no results. 2. Sometimes I get a loud squeel when I can hear anything unless I hold my finger on one of the leads,,,,, works real good untill I hit ringing current! It's just broke.

Online RATHER BE FISHING

  • Moderator
  • Location: South Texas
  • Posts: 948
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 10:03:24 PM »
There is a button battery in the encapsulant gel that needs to be removed and replaced. It ain't easy but can be done with an exacto knife and soldering iron.
Vertical Comdial Dx80 and  DX120 Voice Mail Repair/Compact Flash Cards
Comdial Debut Compact Flash Cards

Offline TexasTechnician

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 410
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #7 on: February 13, 2020, 11:40:07 PM »
I realize this is an antique thread and we don't usually pry them open again but in this case I think it's OK.

I found the old TS-22 in a box last night while I was looking for some other old equipment. I installed a new 9 volt battery in it just for the hell of it and it worked like a brand new one.  :003:

I don't know for how long but.....

I took it apart and I never could locate an encapsulated battery anywhere that Dave mentioned. I watched a few youtube videos and the closest I could find showed a guy had replaced a battery where my ringer is. I think there were more than one versions of mother boards so perhaps I'm not looking in the correct place.

Online hbiss

  • Administrator
  • Location: Westchester County, NY
  • Posts: 3075
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2020, 10:49:53 AM »
Went through that awhile back for somebody on one of these boards. Seems there are a bunch of iterations of that model. I think your battery might be under the piezo ringer, but as long as it's working leave well enough alone.

There's currently a guy over on the other board having a problem with the speaker volume button not working properly after replacing the 3V battery. He's looking for a schematic and information on an unmarked chip. Good luck with that.

-Hal
I gotta get out of this business...

COMSYSTEC- Phone Systems | paging systems | background music systems | foreground music systems | retail music | restaurant music

Offline TexasTechnician

  • Moderator
  • Posts: 410
Re: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?
« Reply #9 on: Yesterday at 09:26:57 PM »
I think good luck is right Hal. Years ago I had a dial pad acting crazy on a test set and I contacted the manufacturer regarding purchasing a new one the they pretty much refused to sell me the part to repair it.