My Phone Techs
October 06, 2015, 09:44:14 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation e-mail?

Login with username, password and session length
News Headlines:
   Home   Help Search Staff List Login Register  
Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Harris-Dracon Test Set (TS22) Repair?  (Read 16350 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Offline

Posts: 234

« on: July 02, 2012, 08:03:38 PM »

Does anyone know of a reliable source to get one reparied these days? I don't need it too often these days but it would be nice to get it fixed for a reasonable price. I have a Fluke that gets me by but it's nowhere near the quality of the old HD. I spent an hour recently toning a pair out and without the speaker my neck was killing me by the time I located the tone. :(
There was so much AC current in the room an amplifer was useless.

Online Online

Location: Northern Virginia (Metro DC Area)
Posts: 506

Web Site
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2012, 08:20:37 PM »

I did a search across the street and found this to be the most recent commo since seems to be out of business.  Hope that it helps, Bobby:

Posted by Z-man (Member # 625) on June 13, 2012 01:27 AM:
After many many years of faithful service, so many I don't even know, thinking maybe 15?? My TS-22A is on the fritz. The "0" on the key pad appears to be worn out! I know it might not be worth fixing, but i have grown attached to it. Anyone know a good source to get a keypad or repair?

Posted by dexman (Member # 7900) on June 13, 2012 08:22 AM:
Fluke & Sandman might have some ideas. Mohawk LTD offers buttset repair services....

If all else fails....retire & replace. [Smile]


Ed Vaughn
Operations Manager
Zaitek Converged Communications Solutions
(540) 735-2300 X108

Online Online

Location: Sarasota Fl
Posts: 876

« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2012, 06:10:04 AM »

I've just gone to eBay and replaced them when they went bad .

what problem are you having ? could it be the internal battery ?

do you use a filter probe for tone  ?   Mine does a great job of muting the AC


...Serving SW and West Central Fl since '84

Online Online

Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 3038

« Reply #3 on: July 03, 2012, 08:33:00 PM »

I've got a HD that I need to ship off too.  The speaker was working fine when I put it back in the truck, and the next time I tried to use it...fubar. 

-I'm only here because my flux capacitor is broken.

Offline Offline

Location: New Jersey
Posts: 318

« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2012, 09:22:03 PM »

I have the same probe as really well

...Please don't touch that

Offline Offline

Posts: 234

« Reply #5 on: July 03, 2012, 09:44:39 PM »

Thanks all.
I guess I don't know about filter amps. 
I just wanted the old HD repaired, I've never considered ebay. I guess that may be as cheap as getting one repaired.

The problem is 1, sometimes there is no sound what-so-ever from the test set period. I have replaced the 9 volt battery with no results. 2. Sometimes I get a loud squeel when I can hear anything unless I hold my finger on one of the leads,,,,, works real good untill I hit ringing current! It's just broke.

Online Online

Location: South Texas
Posts: 770

« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2012, 10:03:24 PM »

There is a button battery in the encapsulant gel that needs to be removed and replaced. It ain't easy but can be done with an exacto knife and soldering iron.

South Texas VoIP systems
Vertical Comdial Dx80 and  DX120 Voice Mail Repair/Compact Flash Cards
Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines | Sitemap