Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Author Topic: Station Lock on SBX 320?  (Read 6607 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline MnDave

  • Moderator
  • Location: Eden Prairie, MN
  • Posts: 340
Station Lock on SBX 320?
« on: March 22, 2011, 09:35:23 PM »
I have a mix of station types on an SBX 320 and I'm looking for the station lock setting like other Vertical/Vodavi systems have. 

Offline EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 840
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #1 on: March 22, 2011, 10:38:42 PM »
I'm glad that you mentioned that, Dave.  I completed my MBX certification today and didn't see it there either.  That is one of my biggest service headaches.  I've even gone to the extreme to not offering different phone models on new sales for this reason.  Even though our company standard is to activate this, technicians often forget to lock it on routine service visits.

I'm sure that there will be a frigging software upgrade requirement for this situation after enough complaints are registered.  Welcome to the miniaturized version of the Wave.

Typical Vertical (and even Vodavi):  Force us into having to sell it and then let us be the ones who have to get kicked in the balls by our customers when it doesn't work as promised.
Ed Vaughn

(540) 623-7100 (V)  (910) 835-3600 (F)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Offline MnDave

  • Moderator
  • Location: Eden Prairie, MN
  • Posts: 340
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2011, 11:34:56 PM »
Wha??? Isn't the SBX supposed to be an improvement over the STSE? Don't ask why, but I"ve got 20 DSS units on this puppy and I have to place the phones before the furniture is installed. Having furniture guys unplugging and plugging those combos back in? Like that's going to work... Aaargh!!!

Offline MnDave

  • Moderator
  • Location: Eden Prairie, MN
  • Posts: 340
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2011, 11:24:15 AM »
Great news! I just got off the phone with tech support and have learned that we don't require the old "station lock" feature on the SBX. If a phone & DSS combo get swapped, they just don't work. The jack knows that it is supposed to be either a phone linked to a DSS or a DSS linked to a phone. AND, if a 24 button and an 8-button phone get swapped, the system remembers the original phone's settings and they are preserved. So, as a useful example, if an 8-button phone is used and activating a particular feature is more easily done from a 24-button phone, just plug in the 24-button phone, activate the feature, then return the 8-button phone to service. Voila!  (That's for any French Canadians!)

Offline EV607797

  • Moderator
  • Location: Fayetteville, NC
  • Posts: 840
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #4 on: March 23, 2011, 12:56:12 PM »
Wow, that is good news indeed.  At least they were thinking about something logical when designing this thing.
Ed Vaughn

(540) 623-7100 (V)  (910) 835-3600 (F)
EMVaughn3@Outlook.com

Offline MnDave

  • Moderator
  • Location: Eden Prairie, MN
  • Posts: 340
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2011, 07:22:33 PM »
Sorry guys. The Tech support person I spoke to was misinformed. I have since emailed Vertical and have been told the request for station lock will be included in the suggestions for requested enhancements. Perhaps the answer I had been given was meant for the MBX but do NOT try them on the SBX unless you want to default the station type. 
 :020:

Offline ComdialJim

  • Pro Shop Member
  • Posts: 4
    • Business Telephone Systems in Long Island New York
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2012, 09:37:25 PM »
This is the stuff that drives me crazy. If the manual was written better we would not have so many questions that get answered wrong.
Jim Hoey

SST Communications
597 West Montauk Highway
Lindenhurst, NY 11757
631 956-0100

www.sstcom.com

Digital and IP Telephone Systems like Comdial, Avaya, Nortel, Pansonic, Vertical in long Island New York City Area.

Offline MnDave

  • Moderator
  • Location: Eden Prairie, MN
  • Posts: 340
Re: Station Lock on SBX 320?
« Reply #7 on: April 20, 2012, 07:58:53 PM »
Once upon a time in a galaxy far far away, Vodavi employed a tech manual re-writer. Imagine that!
I've even thought of writing my own cross reference cheat sheet but I keep running out of time. As we put in more of these systems, we should start remembering the new nomenclatures.

But as a follow up comment to station lock, this customer did have a recent episode of mixing up the cords between the phones and DSS units. When the phone defaulted, they tried swapping it with other sets and then they began trying the phones on other cords. after messing up about 4 combo phone/DSS units, the system actually locked up and I needed to make an emergency visit 45 miles away. And yes, the cords and jacks were all labeled as a precaution against this issue.